Annoyed…

You know when something happens and you get annoyed for some reason…and then usually the annoyed feeling goes away after a few minutes and you get on with your life….yeh… well sometimes i worry things annoy me way more than normal…things that aren’t even ‘annoying’ things…

The ‘Arguing for the sake of it’ approach

I rang to change some train tickets:

Ticket Man: What is your name?
Me: The tickets are booked under Sue Theaker
Man: Is that you?
Me: No
Man: Who is she?
Me: My mum
Man: Then i have to speak to her
Me: She’s not here, but she paid under my name, with my card and the tickets are for me
Man: I can’t see that on my system so i have to speak to Sue
Me: but i could have just pretended to be Sue
Man: Yes but you didn’t
Me: Fine, so i’ll ring back in 10 minutes and say my name is Sue Theaker and you’ll do it?’
man: No cos i’ll know
Me: yeh but i might get someone else in the call centre and they won’t know
Man: That is not the point
Me: so it’s ok for my mum to use a credit card that doesn’t belong to her to pay for stuff over the phone, but you won’t speak to me cos i have the the wrong name?!
Man: yes
Me: goodbye

The ‘Just plain irrational’ approach

We went to an air show the other day (in Gloucestershire) and while we were waiting on the coach to come home, I saw there was a Belgian coach waiting… It was 6.30 pm by this time and I became irrationally concerned about how the Belgians were going to get home before bed time….to the point where I kept firing questions at Neil ‘do you think the coach is going all the way back tonight?’ ‘Will they be able to sleep on the coach?’ ‘Maybe they will stay at a hotel in England tonight?’ ‘Maybe they are coming back to the air show tomorrow?’. Of course Neil couldn’t answer any of my questions and he is used to my obsessive weirdness so he mainly ignored me. Then I realised I had let the plight of the Belgian tourists stress me out far more than I should have and the fact that there were all these unanswered questions going around in my head for NO LOGICAL REASON made me so mad.

The ‘i really should just shut my mouth’ approach

One time in the gym….I was doing some crunches (people who know me, know i don’t do the gym for fun..), and an instructor came over and told me I was doing it wrong and shouldn’t be holding my head. Instead of just smiling and nodding like a normal person…i got freakishly annoyed with the man and proceeded to tell him that my head would fall off if i didn’t hold it and that my neck is too weak for crunches and that he should be glad i am even at the gym in the first place and if he didn’t go away and leave me alone i would leave.

The Overreaction 

Then there was the time i was on holiday with the girls…in spain… and on our first night in the hotel we got told off for being a bit too loud… we weren’t really being that loud to be honest but fair enough…we shut up. The security guard who told us off seemed to have a personal vendetta against us for the rest of the holiday however and a few days later when we were all fast asleep he cam banging on the door. I got up to answer the door cos i was sleeping in the loungy bit of our room. The guard said “I’ve told you girls before, please keep the noise down”…i stared at him, looked down at my PJs, and full on shouted…’FOR GOD’S SAKE (i think i mighta said something worse than this but i don’t like to commit swearing to text) MAN…YOU HAVE JUST WOKEN ME UP TO TELL ME TO BE QUIET, WHAT THE HELL DO YOU THINK WE WERE DOING, HAVING A SLEEP WALKING PARTY!!!’ whereby the man looked startled and my friend came running over to restrain me and assure the man i wasn’t mentally unstable.

I fear I could go on…

 

 

Leave a Reply

